Home / Award

Bruce Naylor Award:
Past Winners

 

 

Stephen Clayden

2016
Dr. Stephen Clayden is the 2016 recipient of the Alliance of Natural History Museum’s (ANHMC) Bruce Naylor Award. Well known in New Brunswick, Canada and internationally, Dr. Stephen Clayden is the Museum’s Research Curator and Head of the Botany and Mycology Section at the New Brunswick Museum in Saint John, New Brunswick.

Nominated by his peers, Dr. Clayden has devoted a 30-year career to advancing understanding of the flora of Atlantic Canada. There is no other botanist in Canada with his breadth of knowledge of the vegetation of the Atlantic Canadian region. This is most evident in his varied publications that span fungi, through green plants to forest ecosystems. This deep understanding of New Brunswick forests has led directly to the creation of Protected Natural Areas in New Brunswick, as well as a namesake beetle, Thamiaraea claydenii, recently described from New Brunswick Silver Maple stands. A specialist on lichens, Dr. Clayden’s research has been mainly concerned with the floristics and biogeography of Atlantic Canada. Nonetheless, his output has also included studies of lichens from mountainous habitats as far afield as Snowdonia in North Wales and northeastern Iran.
Press Release

 

Richard Hebda

2015
Dr. Richard Hebda is the 2015 recipient of the Alliance of Natural History Museum’s (ANHMC) Bruce Naylor Award. The award is given annually to recognize achievement by an individual or individuals of national or international significance in the museum-based natural history field in Canada through distinctive leadership, publications or other remarkable endeavours. The award will be presented to Dr. Hebda at the Canadian Museums Association Conference on April 13th in Halifax. Well known in British Columbia, Canada and internationally, Dr. Hebda is Curator of Botany and Earth History at the Royal BC Museum in Victoria, British Columbia.
Press Release

 

Joanne DiCosimo

2014
Joanne Fredrickson DiCosimo, former President & CEO of the Canadian Museum of Nature, is the winner of the 2014 Bruce Naylor Award. 
“What distinguishes Joanne DiCosimo as an exceptional museum practitioner is the breadth of her vision for museums”, says Robert R. Janes, Editor-in-Chief, Museum Management and Curatorship. “Her entire career demonstrates an open-minded willingness to share, collaborate and forge solutions to complex challenges. Most importantly, her work is grounded in a well-developed sense of social responsibility.”
Press Release

 

Edward Burtynsky

2013
Edward Burtynsky is the recipient of the 2013 Bruce Naylor Award.  The announcement occurred at the organization’s annual reception on Parliament Hill, which is hosted by the Speaker of the House, the Honourable Andrew Scheer.
The award is given annually to recognize achievement by an individual or individuals of national or international significance in the natural history field in Canada through distinctive leadership, publications or other remarkable endeavours.
Press Release

 

Dr. Graham Young

2012
Dr. Graham Young has been named the winner of the 2012 Bruce Naylor Award. Dr. Young is Curator of Geology and Paleontology at The Manitoba Museum.
The Bruce Naylor Award is named for the former director of the Royal Tyrell Museum of Paleontology. Dr. Naylor, who passed away in 2007, had also served as president of the ANHMC. The award was presented at a special reception of The Alliance of Natural History Museums of Canada (ANHMC) on October 22 in The Speaker’s Reception Room in the Centre Block of Parliament Hill in Ottawa.
Press Release

 

Professor David M. Green

2011
Professor David M. Green of Montreal, noted conservationist and one of Canada’s foremost experts on amphibians, is the distinguished recipient of the 2011 Bruce Naylor Award. This national award recognizes exceptional contributions to the museum-based study of natural history in Canada. Green is currently a professor at McGill University and Director of the Redpath Museum. He has made his mark over a 30-year career as a scientist, museum administrator, teacher and conservation advocate.
Press Release

 

Dr. Wayne Maddison (left), Dr. Mark Graham (centre), Brian Groves (right)

2010
Dr. Wayne Maddison (left), Director of the Beaty Biodiversity Museum in Vancouver, BC, was presented with the 2010 Bruce Naylor Award at the annual conference of the Canadian Museums Association in April 2011. Standing to his right are Dr. Mark Graham (centre), Director of Research at the Canadian Museum of Nature, and Brian Groves (right), Manager, Museums Unit, Yukon.
Press Release

 

Appearing in this photo L-R is Pauline Rafferty, Royal BC Museum, Robert Cannings, and Bill Greenlaw, Nova Scotia Museum of Natural History

2009
In 2009, the Bruce Naylor Award was given to Robert Cannings, Ph.D., an entomologist at the Royal BC Museum. Appearing in this photo L-R is Pauline Rafferty, Royal BC Museum, Robert Cannings, and Bill Greenlaw, Nova Scotia Museum of Natural History.
Press Release

Accueil / Prix

Le prix Bruce Naylor :
Gagnants précédents

 

 

Stephen Clayden

2016
M. Stephen Clayden, Ph. D., est le lauréat du prix Bruce Naylor 2016 de l’Alliance des musées d’histoire naturelle du Canada (AMHNC). Bien connu au Nouveau-Brunswick, au Canada et à l'échelle internationale, M. Stephen Clayden est le conservateur – Recherche et chef de la section Botanique et mycologie du Musée du Nouveau-Brunswick, à Saint John au Nouveau-Brunswick.

Mis en nomination par ses pairs, M. Clayden a consacré 30 années de sa carrière à faire progresser la compréhension de la flore du Canada atlantique. Aucun autre botaniste au Canada ne possède une telle connaissance de la végétation de la région du Canada atlantique. Ce savoir se manifeste très clairement dans ses publications qui couvrent des sujets aussi variés que les champignons, les plantes vertes et les écosystèmes forestiers. Cette vaste compréhension des forêts du Nouveau-Brunswick a mené directement à la création des zones naturelles protégées du Nouveau-Brunswick ainsi qu’à la désignation d’un coléoptère à son nom, Thamiaraea claydenii, récemment décrit dans une érablière argentée du Nouveau-Brunswick. Également spécialiste des lichens, M. Clayden étudie principalement la floristique et la biogéographie du Canada atlantique. Ses recherches ont aussi porté sur les lichens d’habitats montagneux aussi lointains que ceux du nord de l'Iran ou de Snowdonia, une région du nord du Pays de Galles.
Press Release

 

Richard Hebda

2015
M. Richard Hebda est récipiendaire du prix Bruce Naylor 2015 de l’Alliance des musées d’histoire naturelle du Canada (AMHNC). Décerné annuellement, ce prix honore la réalisation d’importance nationale ou internationale, d’une ou de plusieurs personnes dans le domaine d’histoire naturelle au Canada, par le leadership d’une ou de plusieurs personnes pour des publications ou autres efforts remarquables. Le prix sera remis à M. Hebda lors de la Conférence de l’Association des musées canadiens le 13 avril á Halifax. Bien connu en Colombie-Britannique et au niveau international, M. Hebda est conservateur de botanique et d’histoire de la Terre au Musée royal de la Colombie-Britannique à Victoria, en Colombie-Britannique.
Communiqué de presse

 

Joanne DiCosimo

2014
Cette année, Joanne DiCosimo est récipiendaire du Prix Bruce Naylor de l'Alliance des musées d'histoire naturelle du Canada.
« Ce qui distingue Joanne DiCosimo, spécialiste exceptionnelle, est l'ampleur de sa vision pour les musées », déclare Robert R. Janes, rédacteur en chef, Gestion et mise en valeur des musées. « Toute sa carrière témoigne d'une volonté d'ouverture d'esprit à partager, collaborer et élaborer des solutions à des problèmes complexes. Plus important encore, son travail se fonde sur un sentiment de responsabilité sociale bien développé ».
Communiqué de presse

 

Edward Burtynsky

2013
Edward Burtynsky est le récipiendaire du prix Bruce Naylor 2013. L’annonce a été faite lors de la réception annuelle de l’organisme sur la Colline du Parlement, offerte par le Président de la Chambre des communes, l’Honorable Andrew Scheer.
Ce prix annuel reconnaît l’accomplissement d’importance nationale ou internationale d’une personne ou d’un groupe de personnes dans le domaine d’histoire naturelle au Canada par le biais d’un leadership particulier, de publications et autres activités remarquables.
Communiqué de presse

 

Dr. Graham Young

2012
Monsieur Graham Young a reçu le prix Bruce Naylor 2012. M. Young est conservateur au département de géologie et de paléontologie du Musée du Manitoba.
Le prix Bruce Naylor porte le nom de l’ex-directeur du Royal Tyrrell Museum of Paleontology. M. Naylor, qui est décédé en 2007, avait également été président de l’AMHNC. Le prix a été remis lors d’une réception spéciale de l’AMHNC, le 22 octobre, dans la salle de réception du président de l’édifice du Centre de la Colline du Parlement, à Ottawa.
Communiqué de presse

 

Professor David M. Green

2011
Le professeur David M. Green, de Montréal, défenseur de l’environnement et l’un des grands spécialistes canadiens des amphibiens, est le récipiendaire du prestigieux prix Bruce Naylor 2011. Ce prix national récompense les contributions exceptionnelles aux études muséales de l’histoire naturelle du Canada. M. Green est actuellement professeur à l’Université McGill et directeur du Musée Redpath. Il a fait sa marque au cours d’une carrière de 30 ans en tant que chercheur, administrateur de musée, enseignant et défenseur de l’environnement.
Communiqué de presse

 

Wayne Maddison (à gauche), Mark Graham, Ph.D. (au centre) et Brian Groves (à droite)

2010
Wayne Maddison (à gauche), Ph.D., directeur du Beaty Biodiversity Museum à Vancouer, en Colombie-Britannique, a reçu le prix Bruce Naylor 2010 à l'occasion du congrès annuel de l'Association des musées canadiens qui se tenait en avril 2011. Debout à sa droite se trouvent Mark Graham, Ph.D. (au centre), directeur de la recherche au Musée canadien de la nature, et Brian Groves (à droite), gestionnaire à la Section des musées du Yukon.
Communiqué de presse

 

Dans la photo, de gauche à droite, on retrouve Pauline Rafferty, Royal BC Museum, Robert Cannings, et Bill Greenlaw, Nova Scotia Museum of Natural History.

2009
Le prix Bruce Naylor 2009 a été présenté à M. Robert Cannings, un entomologiste au Royal BC Museum. Dans la photo, de gauche à droite, on retrouve Pauline Rafferty, Royal BC Museum, Robert Cannings, et Bill Greenlaw, Nova Scotia Museum of Natural Histor.
Communiqué de presse