Home / Members

Members

Canadian Museum of Nature

Ailsa Barry
Vice-President Experience and Engagement
P.O. Box 3443, Station D
Ottawa, Ontario  K1P 6P4
Web Site: nature.ca
Facebook   Twitter

 

The Canadian Museum of Nature is a federal Crown corporation and Canada's national museum of natural history and natural sciences. It promotes awareness of Canada's natural heritage through permanent and travelling exhibitions, public education programmes, active scientific research, a dynamic Web site, and the maintenance of a 10-million-specimen collection, which is based at its Natural Heritage Campus in Gatineau, Quebec. The Museum is working with partners to enhance its national role and to develop national programmes and activities on themes of environmental change over time.

 

Montréal Space for Life

Charles-Mathieu Brunelle
Director
4101, rue Sherbrooke est
Montréal, Québec  H1X 2B2
Web site: http://espacepourlavie.ca/en
Facebook   Twitter

 

The four scientific institutions of the City of Montreal attract nearly 2 million visitors per year. The Biodôme is unique, with its five ecosystems under one single roof: the Tropical and Laurentian Forests, the marine life of the St-Lawrence, the Labrador coast and sub-Antarctic islands. The Botanical Garden is one of the largest and most beautiful in the world, with 22, 000 species and cultivars, 10 greenhouses and more than 20 thematic gardens spread over 75 hectares. The Insectarium, one of the biggest in North America, has more than 250,000 live and mounted specimens. As for the Rio Tinto Alcan Planetarium, there is no better way to explore the wonders of the universe.

 

New Brunswick Museum

Dr. Don McAlpine
Head and Research Curator of Zoology
277 Douglas Avenue
Saint John, New Brunswick E2K 1E5
Web site:   www.nbm-mnb.ca

 

The New Brunswick Museum, a provincial institution funded by the Province of New Brunswick, collects, preserves, studies and exhibits the province’s and Canada’s cultural and natural heritage. As well as its remarkable natural sciences collection, the museum has expanded to include one of the largest collections of 19th century decorative arts and Canadiana in the Atlantic Provinces. The museum offers three floors and 60,000 square feet of exhibit spaces and a wide range of public programs.

 

Nova Scotia Museum of Natural History

Jeff Gray
Curator of Visitor Experiences and Exhibits
1747 Summer Street
Halifax, Nova Scotia  B3H 3A6
Web site: http://museum.gov.ns.ca/mnh/

 

At the Nova Scotia Museum of Natural History, visitors can get nose to nose with a Pilot Whale skeleton or the world's most accurate life-size Sei Whale model. They can check out the fossil evidence for North America's oldest dinosaurs - 100 million years older than Tyrannosaurus rex. Or they can be playful in the Bone Zone or peer down into a Bald Eagle's nest.  Live displays vary with the season - local wild mice, snakes and turtles, frogs and salamanders, fish, bats, spiders, bugs, poison ivy, carnivorous plants.  Naturalists are on duty to interpret and assist visitors.

 

Prince of Wales Northern Heritage Centre

Julie Ross
Assistant Director
P.O. Box 1320
4750 48th Street
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories  X1A 2L9
Web site: www.pwnhc.ca
Facebook   

 

The Prince of Wales Northern Heritage Centre is the central museum for the Northwest Territories.  Its museum collections and exhibits focus on the human and natural history of the Northwest Territories. The PWNHC also houses the Northwest Territories Archives, and administers a variety of funding and outreach programs that support community museums, culture, heritage and the arts throughout the Northwest Territories.

 

Royal Alberta Museum

Dr. Alwynne B. Beaudoin
Head Curator, Earth Science, and Curator, Quaternary Environments
103a Ave NW, Edmonton, AB T5J 0G2
Web site: www.royalalbertamuseum.ca
Facebook   Twitter

 

In the galleries and exhibitions of the Royal Alberta Museum, visitors can explore the natural and human history of Alberta. Through 40,000 square feet of exhibits they can visit the mountains, prairies, forests and parklands of the province. Discover plants and animals from the past and present or examine gems, minerals, and precious metals.

 

Royal British Columbia Museum

Dr. Scott Cooper
Vice-President, Collections, Knowledge and Engagement
675 Belleville Street
Victoria, British Columbia  V8W 9W2
Web site: www.royalbcmuseum.bc.ca
Facebook   Twitter

 

The Royal British Columbia Museum is the only organization in the world dedicated specifically to the preservation of the human and natural history of British Columbia.  It is a place of discovery; through three unique galleries and the Archives, the Museum showcases its collections. Highly realistic and inviting dioramas provide visitors with a sense of walking back through time and of having xperienced authentic settings, including those of the Ice Age, coastal and forest regions, Old Town and First Nations cultures. The Royal BC Museum also features temporary exhibitions of international renown with added programming to enhance the visitor experience.

 

Royal Ontario Museum

Dr. Mark Engstrom
Director Collections and Research
100 Queen's Park
Toronto, ON   M5S 2C6
Web site:  www.rom.on.ca
Facebook   Twitter

 

The Royal Ontario Museum is an internationally renowned museum and a popular attraction in downtown Toronto.  Opened to the public in 1914, the ROM has grown to become Canada’s largest museum of world cultures and natural history, with some six million objects in its collections. The ROM offers engaging galleries of art, archaeology, and natural science from around the world, with a spotlight on Canada’s culture and natural history.  The Museum also conducts important scientific and academic research around the world in partnership with prominent institutions and governments.

 

Royal Saskatchewan Museum

Dr. Ray Poulin
Manager, Research and Collections
2445 Albert Street, Wascana Park
Regina, Saskatchewan  S4P 3V7
Web site: www.royalsaskmuseum.ca
Facebook   Twitter

 

Three galleries and an incredible amount of educational activities!  With the Earth Sciences Gallery, travel through three billion years of Saskatchewan’s geological and fossil history and discover everything from volcanoes and gold, to dinosaurs and glaciers.  With the new Life Sciences Gallery, see Saskatchewan and our Earth from a new and exciting perspective. With the First Nations Gallery, trace the history and culture of Saskatchewan’s First Nations over the past 10,000 years.

 

The Manitoba Museum

Seema Hollenberg
Director, Research, Collections and Exhibitions
190 Rupert Avenue
Winnipeg, Manitoba  R3B 0N2
Web site: www.manitobamuseum.ca
Facebook   Twitter

 

The Manitoba Museum is the province’s largest heritage centre renowned for its combined human and natural heritage themes. The institution shares knowledge about Manitoba, the world and the universe through its collections, exhibitions, publications, on-site and outreach programs, Planetarium shows and Science Gallery exhibits. Eight interpretive galleries explore the history and environment of the province from its northern Arctic coast to its southern prairie grasslands.

 

Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre

Dolf DeJong

General Manager

P.O.Box 3232

Vancouver, B.C. V6B 3X8

Web Site: www.vanaqua.org

 

The Vancouver Aquarium and Marine Science Centre is Canada’s largest aquarium. It is home to over 70,000 animals, including dolphins, seals, Steller sea lions, and beluga whales. It promotes the conservation of aquatic life through displays and interpretation, education, research, and direct action. Popular activities include the dolphin and whale shows, sea otter feeds, and shark dives. Free-roaming animals abound in the Amazon Gallery, and there are numerous interactive exhibits as well as a children's play learning area.

 

Yukon Beringia Interpretive Centre

Brian Groves
Manager, Museums
Box 2703
Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2C6
Web Site: www.beringia.com

 

The Yukon Beringia Interpretive Centre is designed to tell the story of Beringia.  Featuring dynamic new exhibits, the Centre seeks to introduce a world of woolly mammoths, Jefferson's ground sloths, scimitar cats, giant beavers, the environment of the steppe tundra and North America's first people. It explores the discovery of fossils, frozen mummified remains and other paleontological and archaeological finds throughout the area.  The Centre incorporates lectures, camps and recreations of early archaeological and paleontological sites.

 

Associate Members

Beaty Biodiversity Museum

Beaty Biodiversity Museum

Eric B. (Rick) Taylor, PhD
Director and Professor of Zoology

6270 University Blvd.

University of British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia V6T 1Z4

Web Site: http://beatymuseum.ubc.ca

 

Located at the University of British Columbia, the Museum contains over 20 000 square feet of collections and exhibits. Patrons can participate in a variety of educational programmes celebrating biodiversity while visiting the largest blue whale skeleton on display in Canada. The Museum also offerson site teaching labs allowing visitors to interact with a variety of specimens while learning how researchers use the collection.

 

Redpath Museum

Hans C.E. Larsson
Director

859 Sherbrooke St. W.
Montreal, Quebec H3A 2K6

Web Site: www.mcgill.ca/redpath/
Facebook   Twitter

 

The Redpath Museum functions as an independant academic department unit within the Faculty of Science at McGill University. Its mandate is to foster understanding and appreciation of the diversity of our biological, geological, and cultural heritage through scientific research, collections-based study, and education. Built in 1882 by Canada's greatest Victorian naturalist, Sir William Dawson, it has its own tenure-track academic staff, a modest list of graduate and undergraduate courses and its own program, a minor in Natural History. In addition, over 60,000 school children and students annually interact with the Museum's hands-on science educators and close to 100,000 visitors a year come to view the exhibits. With its current population of about 100 people, the Redpath Museum is more active and productive today than it has ever been. Research at the museum is focused on evolution, from working out the details of the 3,5 billion year history of life on the planet to examining how creatures and systems are changing today. Backstopping the scientific research are the Museum's collections of over three million fossil, animal and mineral specimens and cultural artefacts, valued at over $27 million. This material is used daily for a multitude of academic courses and research projects as well as academic research loans of specimens to other institutions far beyond the university.

Accueil / Membres

Membres

Musée canadien de la nature

 

Ailsa Barry
Vice-Présidente d’ expérience et engagement
CP 3443, succ D
Ottawa (Ontario) K1P 6P4
Site Web : www.nature.ca
Facebook   Twitter

 

Le Musée canadien de la nature est une société d’État et le musée national d’histoire et de sciences naturelles. Il encourage la reconnaissance de l’héritage naturel canadien par des expositions permanentes et itinérantes, des programmes d’éducation du public, de la recherche scientifique active, un site Web dynamique et la conservation d’une collection de 10 millions de spécimens dans le Campus du patrimoine naturel de Gatineau, au Québec. Le Musée travaille avec des partenaires pour faire valoir son rôle national et élaborer des programmes et des activités nationales sur des thèmes liés au changement environnemental au fil du temps.

 

Espace pour la vie

 

Charles-Mathieu Brunelle
Directeur
4101, rue Sherbrooke Est
Montréal (Québec) H1X 2B2
Site Web : http://espacepourlavie.ca
Facebook   Twitter

 

Ces quatre institutions scientifiques de la Ville de Montréal attirent près de deux millions de visiteurs par année. Le Biodôme est unique, offrant cinq écosystèmes sous un seul toit : les tropiques, la forêt laurentienne, la vie marine du Saint-Laurent, les côtes du Labrador et les îles subantarctiques. Le Jardin botanique est l’un des plus grands et des plus beaux au monde avec 22 000 espèces et cultivars, 10 serres et une vingtaine de jardins thématiques répartis sur 75 hectares. L’Insectarium, l'un des plus grands en Amérique du Nord, possède plus de 250 000 spécimens, vivants et épinglés. . Le Planétarium Rio Tinto Alcan, quant à lui, est le moyen par excellence d’explorer les splendeurs de l’Univers.

 

Le Musée du Nouveau-Brunswick

Don McAlpine, PhD
Chef et conservateur de recherche en zoologie
277, Avenue Douglas
Saint John (Nouveau-Brunswick) E2K 1E5
Site Web : http://www.nbm-mnb.ca/

 

Le Musée du Nouveau-Brunswick, un musée provincial financé par la province du Nouveau-Brunswick, rassemble, conserve, étudie et expose l’héritage culturel et naturel de cette province et du Canada. En plus de sa remarquable collection de sciences naturelles, le musée a pris de l’expansion et présente une des plus grandes collections d’art décoratif du XIXe siècle et d’objets et de documents concernant l’histoire des provinces de l’Atlantique. Le musée offre 60 000 pieds carrés répartis sur trois étages, ainsi qu’un large éventail de programmes publics.

 

Nova Scotia Museum of Natural History

 

Jeff Gray
Conservateur des expériences et des expositions
1747, rue Summer
Halifax (Nouvelle-Écosse) B3H 3A6
Site Web : www.nature.museum.gov.ns.ca

 

Au Musée d’histoire naturelle de la Nouvelle-Écosse, les visiteurs peuvent se trouver nez à nez avec un squelette de globicéphale, un modèle grandeur nature de rorqual boréal le plus précis au monde. Ils peuvent observer les preuves fossiles des plus vieux dinosaures en Amérique du Nord – plus vieux de 100 millions d’années que le fameux Tyrannosaurus rex – s’amuser dans la Bone Zone ou examiner un nid d’aigle à tête blanche. Les expositions vivantes varient selon les saisons – souris locales, serpents et tortues, grenouilles et salamandres, poissons, chauves-souris, araignées, insectes, herbe à puce et plantes carnivores. Des naturalistes sont sur place pour assurer l’interprétation et pour aider les visiteurs.

 

Centre du patrimoine septentrional du Prince de Galles

Julie Ross
Directrice assistante
CP 1320
4750, 48e rue
Yellowknife (Territoires du Nord-Ouest) X1A 2L9
Site Web : www.pwnhc.ca
Facebook   

 

Le Centre du patrimoine septentrional du Prince de Galles est le musée central des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Ses collections et ses expositions portent sur l’homme et l’histoire naturelle des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Le Musée abrite aussi les Archives des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et administre divers programmes de financement et de diffusion qui appuient les musées, la culture, le patrimoine et les arts dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest.

 

Royal Alberta Museum

Alwynne B. Beaudoin, PhD
Conservateur en chef, sciences de la terre et conservateur des environnements quaternaires
12845, 102e avenue
Edmonton (Alberta) T5N 0M6
Site Web : www.royalalbertamuseum.ca
Facebook   Twitter

 

Dans les galeries et expositions du Royal Alberta Museum, les visiteurs peuvent explorer l’histoire de la nature et de la civilisation en Alberta. En parcourant 40 000 pieds d’exposition, ils rencontrent des montagnes, des prairies et des parcs de la province. Ils découvrent les plantes et les animaux du passé et du présent, et peuvent examiner des pierres précieuses, des minéraux et des métaux précieux.

 

Royal British Columbia Museum

Scott Cooper, PhD
Vice-Président, collections, connaissances et engagement
675, rue Belleville
Victoria (Colombie-Britannique) V8W 9W2
Site Web : www.royalbcmuseum.bc.ca
Facebook   Twitter

 

Le Royal British Columbia Museum est la seule institution dédiée à la préservation de l’histoire de la civilisation et de l’histoire naturelle en Colombie-Britannique. C’est un endroit de découverte; dans ses trois galeries et ses archives, le musée présente ses collections. Des dioramas très réalistes et invitants donnent aux visiteurs l’illusion de reculer dans le temps et les font passer dans des environnements authentiques tels que la période glaciaire, des environnements côtiers et forestiers, la vieille ville et la culture des Premières nations. Le Royal British Columbia Museum présente aussi des expositions itinérantes de renommée internationale accompagnées d’une programmation qui rehausse l’expérience des visiteurs.

 

Musée royal de l’Ontario

 

Mark Engstrom, PhD
Directeur, Collections et recherche Musée royal de l’Ontario
Musée royal de l’Ontario
100, Queen’s Park
Toronto (Ontario) M5S 2C6
Site Web : www.rom.on.ca/
Facebook   Twitter

 

Le Musée royal de l’Ontario (MRO) est un musée de renommée mondiale et une attraction populaire au centre-ville de Toronto. Ouvert au public depuis 1914, le MRO a pris de l’ampleur pour devenir le plus grand musée canadien de cultures mondiales et d’histoire naturelle, avec des collections de plus de six millions d’objets. Le MRO présente des galeries d’art, d’archéologie et de sciences naturelles des quatre coins monde, mettant aussi l’accent sur la culture et l’histoire naturelle du Canada. Le musée mène également d’importantes recherches scientifiques et universitaires en partenariat avec des institutions importantes et des gouvernements.

 

Royal Saskatchewan Museum

Ray Poulin, PhD
Gestionnaire, recherché et collections
2445, rue Albert, Wascana Park
Regina (Saskatchewan) S4P 3V7
Site Web : www.royalsaskmuseum.ca
Facebook   Twitter

 

Trois galeries et une quantité incroyable d’activités éducatives! Dans la Galerie des sciences de la Terre, un voyage de trois milliards d’années retrace l’histoire géologique et des fossiles de la Saskatchewan et permet de découvrir des volcans et de l’or, des dinosaures et des glaciers. Dans la nouvelle Galerie des sciences de la Vie, la Saskatchewan et la Terre sont présentées sous un tout nouveau jour, et dans la Galerie des Premières nations, on raconte 10 000 années d’histoire et de culture des Premières nations de la Saskatchewan.

 

Le Musée du Manitoba

 

Seema Hollenberg
Directrice, Recherche, Collections et Expositions
190, avenue Rupert
Winnipeg (Manitoba) R3B 0N2
Site Web : www.manitobamuseum.ca
Facebook   Twitter

 

Le Musée du Manitoba est le plus grand centre patrimonial de la province, reconnu pour ses thèmes réunissant les humains et la nature. Le musée transmet des connaissances sur le Manitoba, la planète et l’univers avec ses collections, ses expositions, ses publications, ses programmes sur place et ses programmes de diffusion, les présentations de son Planétarium et les expositions de sa Galerie des sciences. Huit galeries interprétatives explorent l’histoire et l’environnement de la province, des côtes de l’Arctique aux prairies.

 

Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre

 

Dolf DeJong,

Directeur général

CP 3232

Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique) V6B 3X8

Web Site: www.vanaqua.org

 

L’Aquarium de Vancouver est le plus important du genre au Canada. Il héberge plus de 70 000 animaux, dont des dauphins, des phoques, des otaries de Steller et des bélugas. Il fait la promotion de la vie aquatique et la préservation de celle-ci par l’entremise d’expositions et d’interprétations ainsi que par des activités d’éducation et de recherche et des interventions directes. Parmi les activités populaires offertes, on peut observer des dauphins en spectacle, des loutres de mer se faire nourrir et des requins faire des plongeons. Les animaux en liberté abondent dans la galerie Amazone et on trouve de nombreuses expositions interactives ainsi qu’un endroit d’apprentissage par le jeu pour les enfants.

 

Centre d’interprétation de la Béringie du Yukon

 

Brian Groves
Gestionnaire de la division du musée
CP 2703
Whitehorse (Yukon) Y1A 2C6
Site Web : www.beringia.com

 

Le Centre d’interprétation de la Béringie du Yukon est conçu pour raconter l’histoire de la Béringie. Avec ses nouvelles expositions dynamiques, le Centre présente des mammouths laineux, des paresseux marcheurs, des chats des cavernes, des castors géants, l’environnement de la toundra des steppes et les premiers habitants de l’Amérique du Nord. Le Centre explore la découverte des fossiles, des restes momifiés congelés et autres objets de paléontologie et d’archéologie découverts dans ce secteur. Le Centre offre des conférences, des camps et des recréations de sites archéologiques et paléontologiques.

 

Membres associés

Beaty Biodiversity Museum

Beaty Biodiversity Museum

 

Eric B. (Rick) Taylor, PhD
Directeur et professeur de zoologie

6270, blvd University
University of British Columbia

Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique) V6T 1Z4

Site web: http://beatymuseum.ubc.ca

 

Situé à l'Université de la Colombie‐Britannique, le musée contient plus de 20 000 pieds carrés decollections et d’expositions. Les clients peuvent participer à une variété de programmes éducatifscélébrant la diversité biologique tout en visitant le plus grand squelette de rorqual bleu en montre auCanada. Le Musée propose également des laboratoires d'enseignement permettant aux visiteurs d'interagir avec une variété de spécimens tout en apprenant comment les chercheurs utilisent la collection.

 

Musée Redpath

 

Hans C. E. Larsson
Directeur

859, rue Sherbrooke
Montreal (Québec) H3A 2K6

Site web: www.mcgill.ca/redpath/
Facebook   Twitter

 

Le Musée Redpath est une unité indépendante rattachée à la Faculté des sciences de l’Université McGill. Sa mission est de favoriser la compréhension et l’appréciation de la diversité de notre héritage biologique, géologique et culturel grâce à la recherche scientifique, à l’étude de collections et à l’éducation. Construit en 1882 par le plus éminent naturaliste de l’époque victorienne du Canada, Sir William Dawson, il possède son propre corps professoral et offre des cours au premier cycle et aux cycles supérieurs, ainsi qu’une mineure en histoire naturelle. Chaque année, plus de 60 000 écoliers et étudiants interagissent avec les éducateurs du Musée, et près de 100 000 visiteurs découvrent ses expositions. Riche d’un effectif de quelque 100 employés, le Musée Redpath est plus actif et plus productif qu’il ne l’a jamais été. Les projets de recherche réalisés au Musée sont axés sur l’évolution, qu’il s’agisse de préciser les détails de quelque 3,5 milliards d’années de vie sur la planète ou d’examiner la façon dont les créatures et les systèmes se transforment aujourd’hui. La recherche scientifique réalisée au Musée s’appuie sur des collections de plus de trois millions de spécimens de fossiles, d’animaux et de minéraux, ainsi que sur des artéfacts provenant de diverses cultures. Ce matériel est utilisé chaque jour pour une multitude de cours et de projets de recherche universitaires, et de nombreux spécimens sont prêtés à d’autres institutions afin de contribuer à la recherche.